Troop C

Troop C

Troop C, the "Spotted Horse Troop", began operations on June 1, 1921, with its headquarters in Sidney, Delaware County.  Encompassing the heart of New York’s Southern Tier Region, the members of the “Spotted Horse Troop” have faithfully served the largely rural and suburban population for generations.
Since the lawless days before the arrival of the troopers, there are now more than 50 state, county, and municipal law enforcement agencies that work hand in hand with troopers to protect our fellow citizens.  In addition to patrol and criminal investigation throughout the troop, Troop C provides specialized services for other agencies, including forensic investigations, accident reconstruction, aviation support, and manpower assistance for natural disasters or large-scale disturbances.  Today, Troop C serves 560,000 of its fellow citizens. The Troop encompasses seven counties, stretching from the Catskill Mountains in the southeast, north through Oneonta and west through Cortland, Binghamton, Waverly, Ithaca, and the eastern Finger Lakes.  There are more than 300 sworn members and over 40 civilian employees deployed in 17 stations and satellite offices across the 5,583 square miles encompassed by the Troop. 
From the rural farmlands surrounding Oneonta, the wilds of the Catskill Mountains, the urban Binghamton/Triple Cities region, the rolling pasturelands and apple orchards of Cortland, and the Finger Lakes and wine country near Ithaca, Troop C’s members are a familiar sight.  Whether working alone while responding to crimes in progress, assisting local agencies, policing area festivals and road races, or enforcing traffic laws and conducting accident investigations on the thousands of miles of roads, streets and or Interstates that traverse the troop, citizens know they can rely on assistance from their troopers, as they have since that day in June nearly a century ago.


Broome, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware, Otsego, Tioga, Tompkins